last
next
old
new
email
book
notes
design
host
Wednesday, Feb. 20, 2002
as i knew i would be, i am exhausted today. i got into bed around 2:00 but unfortunatly last night my cats had an agenda, which was to not let me sleep. eating flowers, playing with a roll of stamps, and play fighting...all things that kept me up or woke me up.

i did have a good time last night. except for the ride in. i had forgotten how close 'tribeca blues' is to 'ground zero'. hence the name 'tribeca blues'. anyway streets were closed off and that area is so confusing with all the tiny streets. it took forever to get there...it was very frustrating. i felt as if i was circling around 'ground zero'. in a way though it was nice to be down there. it was nice to have a new picture in my mind of it rather than the one from september 21. it was so raw, so new, so incredibly painful then. it still is, but the shock factor isn't as apparent. i did feel my eyes well up with tears as we passed trinity church. the wall of memory and tribute surrounding the church gave me an overwhelming sense of sadness and peace. it was the same raw sadness that i felt in september.

i am thankful that i live so close to nyc and am able to go down there. i am sure so many people wish they were able to go and sort of make peace or pay their respects, but are too far away.

on a lighter note, my friend marc showed up last night. i am really happy that he came. we lost touch for so long, but it seems that our friendship has grown along with us. he and jon seem to get along very well so i know now that i don't ever have to worry about that again.

and i am very excited because i will get a copy of one of my all time favorite tapes back...legion of mary 4-19-75. yippee!

written at 10:55 a.m.